Posted in Cebu Events Lifestyle

Binibining Cebu 2020 crowns new queens

Binibining Cebu 2020 crowns new queens Posted on January 14, 2020Leave a comment

Sinjin is a travel and lifestyle blogger. Formerly the president of Cebu's premier blogging organization, the Cebu Bloggers Society, he is Sun Prepaid's "Glorious Lifestyle Baron" and Cebu Pacific's "Singapore Party Peep"

24 -year old Beatrice Luigi Gomez, who represented the town of San Fernando, was crowned Binibining Cebu 2020. Four other winners were proclaimed, wearing new crowns designed by multi-awarded designer Kenneth Cobonpue. They are Dalaguete’s Amanda BasnilloBinibining Cebu Ecology, Carcar City’s Marla AlforqueBinibining Cebu Heritage, Cebu City North’s Betty Davis Binibining Cebu Charity, and Cordova’s Ameena Allababidi Binibining Cebu Tourism.

L-R: Bb. Cebu Ecology Amanda Basnillo, Bb. Cebu Heritage Marla Alforque, Binibining Cebu 2020 Beatrice Luigi Gomez, Bb. Cebu Tourism Ameena Allabadidi, Bb. Cebu Charity Betty Davis,

During a quick huddle with the media immediately after the pageant, the new Binibining Cebu said that she did not expect to win the crown and claimed that she only joined for the experience.

Pageant Recap

The Binibining Cebu 2020 Coronation Night, with the theme “A Million Dreams”, was held at the Pacific Grand Ballroom of Waterfront Cebu City Hotel and Casino last night.

Before the show started, the audience was entertained by performances of VizMA winners.

Pre-show performance by VizMA winners

The pageant, which was scheduled to start at 7PM, started at 9:15PM. The reigning Binibining Cebu 2018-2019 queens emerged from darkness for their farewell walk.

Binibining Cebu 2018-2019 Farewell Walk

This was followed by a VTR of five kids dreaming to become beauty queens someday. They later on joined the Binibining Cebu queens on stage.

The pageant did not proceed without a hiccup. After the candidates’ opening production number and introduction, the show abruptly paused due to technical issues on lighting. I initially thought that the dim lighting during the opening was intentional so the candidates would appear as silhouettes, but it was a malfunction that forced the pageant to restart some ten minutes later. “From the top”

Introduction of 54 Binibining Cebu candidates, take two

Hosted by OJ Cimafranca and Maria Gigante, corporate awards were then given away after the opening production.

OJ Cimafranca and Maria Gigante
Beatrice Luigi Gomez of San Fernando was awarded as Miss Bodyworx Medical Spa by Drs. Andy and Sugar Mantilla
First set of special awards:
Ms. Bodyworx Medical Spa and Ms. Foton – Beatrice Luigi Gomez (San Fernando), Ms. Mang Inasal – Amanda Basnillo (Dalaguete), Ms. Mactan Electric Company – Ameena Allababidi (Cordova), SUN’s Texters Choice – Dannika Anne Ocampo (Carmen), Ms. One Nadela Dental – Jessa Mangubat (Madridejos)

Top 21

From 54, the candidates were quickly reduced to 20. Called to proceed to the next level of competition were (in order of announcement): Madridejos, Lapu-Lapu City, Bantayan, Naga City, Mandaue City, Ginatilan, Borbon, Pilar, Carcar City, Ronda, Carmen, San Fernando, Cebu City South, Poro, Talisay, Consolacion, Tudela, Toledo City, Cordova, and Dalaguete. But due to the “intense” competition, the organizers decided to add one more candidate, which happened to be Cebu City North Betty Davis (who eventually won as Binibining Cebu Charity).

Binibining Cebu 2020 Top 21


The esteemed board of judges were introduced with his/her own credentials. They were journalist and pageant coach Voltaire Tayag, known shoe designer Jojo Bragais, Central Visayas police chief Brigadier General Valeriano de Leon, Miss Globe 2015 Ann Colis, Cebuano model-entrepreneur Slater Young, Sash Factor pageant correspondent Adam Genato, actress Donna Cruz, and renowned architect Arch. Royal Pineda.

Swimsuit Competition

Cebuano male models got the audience gasping when they appeared for the swimsuit segment

The Top 21 were back on stage with wearing swimsuits from the PauLina collection by designer Mikee Andrei. They were later on joined by the rest of the candidates and performed a VizMa Original song, “Lingi-A”, headed by Ms. Naga and Ms. Consolacion.

The Swimsuit Production Number

Another set of special awards were given away. They are:

Miss Congeniality – Nica Yabo (Samboan)
Miss Photogenic – Maria Jocelyn Bula (Santander)
Miss Instagram Personality – Madridejos (Jessa Mangubat)
Kids Choice Award – Kila Kyle Cabasan (Alcoy)
Batch ’85 Ideal Candidate – Shara Servande (Consolacion)
Best in Evening Gown – Maria Fe Loayon (Poro)
Best in Swimwear – Beatrice Luigi Gomez (San Fernando)

Top 12

Still wearing their swimsuits, the Top 21 were further trimmed to twelve.

They were (in order of announcement): Lapu-Lapu City’s Chloe Boone, Bantayan’s Juvel Ducay, Naga City’s Victoria Ingram, Cebu City North’s Betty Davis, Mandaue City’s Ena Velasco, Ginatilan’s Princess Paraiso, Carcar City’s Marla Alforque, Ronda’s Sharon Angel, San Fernando’s Beatrice Luigi Gomez, Toledo City’s Kathlyn Lawig, Cordova’s Ameena Allababidi, and Dalaguete’s Amanda Basnillo

After the announcement of the Top 12 finalists was the evening gown competition, where all candidates wore identical gold gowns designed by Master Couturier Cary Santiago. This was followed by the casual interview and final question: “Some kids in life live on the streets and have nothing in life. As a Binibining Cebu, how can you inspire little kids like them to never stop dreaming?”.

Catriona Gray

On what would traditionally be a pageant’s farewell walk segment, Miss Universe 2018 Catriona Gray came into view with her usual great smile and glorious stage presence. As seen from their reaction, the candidates themselves were starstruck.

Catriona Gray performed Aretha Franklin’s (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman to the delight of the Cebuano audience
Catriona Gray joined by hosts Maria Gigante and OJ Cimafranca

When asked for a message to the candidates, Catriona said, “It takes a lot of courage to come up on the stage in front of everyone and represent not just yourself but each of your provinces. Know that whatever happens tonight, you are never denied but only redirected to the dream you’re meant to fulfill.” Truly powerful and inspiring words coming from a living queen.

Binibining Cebu 2020 Winners

The Top 12 held hands as the new Binibining Cebu queens were announced.

Reigning Binibining Cebu Ecology Isabela Deutsch with Binibining Cebu Ecology 2020 Amanda Basnillo (Dalaguete)
Reigning Binibining Cebu Heritage Lou Dominique Piczon with Binibining Cebu Heritage 2020 Marla Alforque (Carcar)
Reigning Binibining Cebu Charity Tracy Maureen Perez with Binibining Cebu Charity 2020 Betty Davis (Cebu City North)
Reigning Binibining Cebu Tourism Kim Covert with crowd-favorite and Binibining Cebu Tourism 2020 Ameena Allababidi (Cordova)
Reigning Binibining Cebu 2018-2019 Steffi Rose Aberasturi turns over her crown to Binibining Cebu 2020 Beatrice Luigi Gomez.
Binibining Cebu 2020 and her court

Truly an eventful night it was, the pageant ended at 12:30AM.

Sinjin is a travel and lifestyle blogger. Formerly the president of Cebu's premier blogging organization, the Cebu Bloggers Society, he is Sun Prepaid's "Glorious Lifestyle Baron" and Cebu Pacific's "Singapore Party Peep"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *